The DuPage County Health Department

Highlights from the history of the Health Department
Part 3

The 1994-95 Annual Report of the DuPage County Health Department, titled "50 Years of Service", states the estimated population of DuPage County is 843,084.

July 17, 1996 – Thousands of residents in Naperville and Lisle are affecting by heavy rain that causes flooding. The Health Department responds in several ways, including a boil water order issued by Environmental Health Services for residents with private wells, and Public Health Nurses offered tetanus shots and moral support to an estimated 4,200 residents. DuPage is one of 11 Illinois counties declared federal disaster areas.

The Health Department's 1998 Annual Report "Strengthening Community Ties" is the first to be posted electronically on the "new, greatly expanded website." 

September 11, 2001 – Terrorist attacks in New York City, Washington, D.C. and Pennsylvania.

On November 25, 2002, in the wake of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks and mailings of anthrax, Public Health is designated as “first responders” and one of the Critical Infrastructure Sectors in the Homeland Security Act of 2002.

in 2004, a countywide West Nile virus surveillance program was started. Nearly 50 mosquito traps are placed around the county. Mosquitoes are collected twice each week and tested for West Nile virus and other mosquito-borne diseases.

In 2005, the West Chicago Mental Health Center opened at 245 West Roosevelt Road.

In 2013, DuPage Narcan program begins operations in response to the opioid epidemic.

April 2013 – Extreme weather, including widespread flooding affects DuPage County. A special Health Department hotline is made available for residents with questions and concerns about flooding. The Health Department offers the Tetanus-Diphtheria Vaccine to residents. Assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is made available.

On December 13, 2013, Karen J. Ayala is named 10th Executive Director in the history of the DuPage County Health Department.

DuPage County Health Department Executive Directors 1945 to present
Sidney I. Franklin, M.D. - March to November 1945
James W. Chapman, M.D. - 1945 to 1947
E.L. Sederlin, M.D. - 1948 to 1956
Charles A. Lang, M.D., M.P.H. - 1956 to 1975
James P. Paulissen,  M.D., M.P.H. - 1975 to 1993
Kevin M. Sherin, M.D., M.P.H. - October 1993 to November 1994
David R. McNutt M.D., M.P.H. - July 1995 to 1999
Leland Lewis, B.S., M.B.A. - 1999 to 2004
Maureen McHugh - 2005 to 2013
Karen J. Ayala - 2014 to present

March 22, 2014 – A DuPage County Sheriff’s Deputy saves a life using Narcan, the first "save" using the opioid antidote in the County.

October 16, 2015 – The DuPage County Health Department celebrates the opening of the new Community Center at 115 N County Farm Road, Wheaton. The 33,000-square-foot building cost approximately $11 million and was fully-funded by the Health Department.

January 19, 2018 – The first meeting of the DuPage County Heroin/Opioid Prevention and Education (HOPE) Taskforce.

2018 – To better serve the community, the Health Department adopts its definition of Integrated Care: "We collaborate to assess needs, deliver services and coordinate care to improve the health of our clients and our community."

On October 11, 2018, the DuPage County Health Department's Community Center is rededicated. The facility is renamed the “Linda A. Kurzawa Community Center” to honor the longtime Board of Health President

October 14, 2018 – Linda A. Kurzawa, DuPage County Board of Health President passes away. She was 66. Mrs. Kurzawa served the second-longest term, 20 years, as Board of Health President. Only John P. Case served longer as Board of Health President (1951-1975).

DuPage County Board of Health Presidents 1945 to present
Arthur S. Webb, M.D. – 1945 to 1951
John P. Case – 1951 to 1975
Roger T. Rydstrom, D.D.S. – 1975 to 1978
Paul W. Coultrap – 1978 to 1980
David L. Humphreys – 1980 to 1984
Edwin S. Burtis – 1984 to 1991
Virginia K. Stewart – 1991 to 1994
Robert L. Hawkins – 1994 to 1998
Linda A. Kurzawa – 1999 to 2018
Sam Tornatore – 2018 to present

Return to the home page