Food Safety Training

In the State of Illinois, there are three types of certification/training requirements for staff working in a food service establishment.

  1. Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM)
  2. Allergen Training (required for Certified Food Protection Managers)
  3. Food Handler Certification

Certified Food Protection Manager

Certified Food Protection Manager (CFPM) requirement is based on the risk category of your food establishment. The requirements in DuPage County for our risk-based system are as follows:

Risk Category I and Risk Category II operations must have at least one CFPM present during all hours of operation. The person in charge (PIC) must be a CFPM.

Risk Category III operations do not require a CFPM. However, at least one is recommended.

To Become Certified

An eight-hour course approved by the American National Standards Institute-Conference for Food Protection (ANSI-CFP) must be completed to become certified. At the end of the course, an examination must be successfully completed with a passing score of 75 percent or above. Certificates are valid for five years.

Allergen Training

All Risk Category I restaurants must have at least one CFPM who has undergone allergen training through an ANSI-CFP approved course. Allergen Training certificates are valid for three years.

Food Handler Certification

All food handlers, other than someone holding a CFPM certificate, shall receive or obtain training in basic food handling principles. Food handlers working for a temporary food service or volunteer employees are exempt from this requirement. Food Handler certificates are valid for three years.

More Information

For more information, including a partial list of course providers, please view our Fact Sheet (PDF).