Fact Sheet Table of Contents

What is HACCP?

Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) Program means a comprehensive food safety control plan which includes a step-by-step description of the food processing, packaging and storage procedures, food contact surface cleaning and sanitizing procedures; lot identification procedures; and training procedures.

What are Critical Control Points?

Any procedure that allows the survival and growth of bacteria or contamination of the food item. Examples of these include cooking, holding, cooling, and reheating.

What are the seven steps of HACCP?

The seven steps of designing and implementing a HACCP plan are as follows:

Design the System

1. Analyze the Hazards-What are the food safety risks with this product?
2. Determine the Critical Control Points-What are the key temperatures for this food product?

Implementation of the System

3. Determine the Critical Limits-What standards should be met for each item?
4. Monitor the Critical Control Points-Use a thermometer to verify temperatures.
5. Determine Corrective Actions-What will be done with food that is out of temperature range?

Maintain and Verify System Effectiveness

6. Record Keeping-Keep copies of temperature logs.
7. Verification-Managers do daily line checks.

Why should I use HACCP?

HACCP is used to address those critical control points within a recipe and ensure the hazards are eliminated. A comprehensive HACCP program will help to improve efficiency and prevent food borne illness.

Where can I go for help on HACCP?

DuPage County Health Department sanitarians are trained in HACCP and can help you with questions that you have about it. Contact your area sanitarian if you need additional information on HACCP.